Announcing the 2022 Minnesota Climate Adaptation Award Recipients

Join the Minnesota Climate Adaptation Partnership in celebrating the 2022 recipients of the Minnesota Climate Adaptation Awards. 

Sara Smith - Individual Adaptation Award

Sara Smith, Tribal Climate Resilience Liaison for the Northeast Climate Adaptation Science Center and College of Menominee Nation, is recognized for her work on building tribal climate resilience and her commitment to respecting the perspectives and rights of indigenous communities. Read more about Sara Smith.

Ecolibrium3 - Organization Adaptation Award

Throughout their over ten years as an organization, Duluth-based Ecolibrium3 has implemented several programs that focus on community resiliency, from disaster response to energy stability to community health. Continue reading about Ecolibrium3.

Precipitate - Business Adaptation Award

Precipitate’s work combines carbon neutral architecture, advocacy and research to work toward climate justice. Precipitate conducted building assessments, procured financial assessments, and engaged diverse stakeholders to contribute to the final form of the Bemidji State University’s updated Climate Action and Resilience Plan. Continue reading about Precipitate. 

Dibaginjigaadeg Anishinaabe Ezhitwaad: A Tribal Climate Adaptation Menu  - Collaborative Adaptation Award

This collaborative effort created a usable document that focuses on climate adaptation strategies, and centers the experiences, knowledge, and needs of tribal communities, which are often underserved and excluded from climate adaptation conversations. Continue reading about A Tribal Climate Adaptation Menu.

Katya Gordon - Climate Communication Award

Katya Gordon, who was nominated for 13 years of work across multiple projects, has made a significant impact on the Northland in education, engagement, recruitment to action, social justice, and broader awareness and understanding of the need for climate adaptation. Continue reading about Katya Gordon.

About the awards

The award recipients were honored January 31, 2022 at a virtual ceremony that featured a panel discussion and keynote speaker Dr. Katharine Hayhoe of The Nature Conservancy. 

The Minnesota Climate Adaptation Awards are held annually with nominations accepted in the fall. Learn more about the awards. 

2022 Minnesota Climate Adaptation Awards