Tribal Adaptation Menu - Collaborative Adaptation Award 2022

A Tribal Climate Adaptation Menu cover

"The impact of this groundbreaking document [will] continue to grow throughout Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan and beyond for years to come." -from Minnesota Climate Adaptation Awards nomination

Many climate adaptation planning tools fail to address the unique needs, values, and cultures of indigenous communities. Dibaginjigaadeg Anishinaabe Ezhitwaad: A Tribal Climate Adaptation Menu (TAM) provides a framework to integrate indigenous and traditional knowledge, culture, language and history into the climate adaptation planning process. Primarily developed for the use of indigenous communities, tribal natural resource agencies, and their non-indigenous partners, the Tribal Climate Adaptation Menu may be useful in bridging communication barriers for non-tribal persons or organizations interested in indigenous approaches to climate adaptation and the needs and values of tribal communities.

This collaborative effort was nominated not only because it is a usable document that focuses on climate adaptation strategies, but also because it centers the experiences, knowledge, and needs of tribal communities, which are often underserved and excluded from climate adaptation conversations. The TAM is the result of collaborations between tribal, academic, intertribal, and government entities, and had 20 co-authors:

  • Tyler Kaspar and Tansey Moore from the 1854 Treaty Authority
  • Rob Croll, Emily Minogiizhigookwe Nelis, Hannah Panci, and Kim Stone from the Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission
  • Chris Caldwell, Gregory J. Gauthier Jr., and Jeff Grignon from Menominee Nation
  • Sara Smith from the Northeast Climate Adaptation Science Center
  • Stephen Handler, Kristen Schmitt, and Chris Swanston from the Northern Institute of Applied Climate Science
  • Ziigwanikwe (Katy Bresette) and Nisogaabo Ikwe (Melonee Montano) from the Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Ojibwe
  • Opichi (Robin Clark) from the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians
  • Eric Chapman and Patricia Moran from Waaswaaganing Ojibwe (Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians)
  • Gidigaa bizhiw (Jerry Jondreau) from Wiikwedong (Keweenaw Bay Indian Community)

The collaboration that created the Tribal Adaptation Menu epitomizes the community approach that is necessary for climate adaptation, and we are proud to present the Collaborative Adaptation Award to those involved.


Back to Minnesota Climate Adaptation Awards.